Reconfigure Your Enterprise PKS Deployment

Page last updated:

After deployment, you can reconfigure your your Enterprise PKS installation in VMware Enterprise PKS Management Console, either by using the wizard or by importing an updated YAML file.

Reconfigure Your Enterprise PKS Deployment in the Wizard

The procedure to reconfigure Enterprise PKS deployments in the wizard is as follows.

  1. Expand Configuration and go to the PKS Configuration view of the management console.
  2. Select Wizard to be taken to the configuration wizard for Enterprise PKS.
  3. Expand the different sections of the wizard and change the configurations as necessary.

    For information about which configuration options you can change, see Which Options Can I Reconfigure? below.

    For the options that you can modify, refer to Deploy Enterprise PKS by Using the Configuration Wizard for instructions about how to fill in each section.
  4. When you have finished reconfiguring, click Generate Configuration.
  5. Optionally export the PksConfiguration.yaml file to save a copy of your configuration.
  6. Click Apply Configuration and Continue to complete the reconfiguration of Enterprise PKS.

Reconfigure Your Enterprise PKS Deployment by Importing a YAML File

The procedure to reconfigure Enterprise PKS deployments by importing an updated YAML file is as follows.

  1. Expand Configuration and go to the PKS Configuration view of the management console.
  2. Select Wizard to be taken to the configuration wizard for Enterprise PKS.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click Import.
  4. Drag the YAML file into the Import Configuration File window, or click Browse to navigate to it.
  5. In the Configuration File editor, modify the contents of the YAML file appropriately for the new instance of Enterprise PKS that you want to deploy.

    For information about which configuration options you can change, see Which Options Can I Reconfigure? below.

    If the YAML was generated by an instance of management console that is running in a different vSphere environment, update the passwords for NSX Manager, vCenter Server, and Harbor. For more information see Deploy Enterprise PKS by Importing a YAML Configuration File.

    To abandon this YAML and start again, click Import to upload the YAML again or to import a new one.

    You can also click the Edit in Wizard button, to open the imported configuration in the wizard.
  6. Click Apply Configuration and Continue to complete the reconfiguration of Enterprise PKS.

Which Options Can I Reconfigure?

After the initial deployment of Enterprise PKS, there are certain options that you cannot reconfigure. In particular, you cannot make significant infrastructure changes.

The table below lists what you can and cannot modify on an existing Enterprise PKS deployment.

Section Cannot Modify Can Modify
vCenter Account

vCenter Server instance

Datacenter

vCenter Server address, if it changes

Username

Password

Networking: Container Networking Interface You cannot change between NSX-T Data Center (Automated NAT Deployment), NSX-T Data Center (Bring Your Own Topology), and Flannel. None
Networking: NSX Manager Details You cannot change the deployment to a different NSX Manager instance

NSX Manager address, if it changes

Username

Password

Networking: NSX-T Data Center (Automated NAT Deployment) Deployment Network Reserved IP Range All other options
Networking: NSX-T Data Center (Bring Your Own Topology)

Deployment Network Reserved IP Range

NAT mode

All other options
Networking: Flannel

Deployment Network Reserved IP Range

Service Network Reserved IP Range

All other options
Identity None All options. Note that if you previously used a local user database and change to AD/LDAP or SAML, the local user database is deleted.
Availability Zones Management availability zone All other options, including adding and deleting availability zones
Plans None All options, including adding and deleting plans
Integrations None All options
Harbor

Harbor FQDN

Authentication mode

All other options. Note that if you previously enabled Harbor and then disable it, the Harbor instance is deleted.
CEIP and Telemetry None All options

Please send any feedback you have to pks-feedback@pivotal.io.