Managing Multiple Data Centers

This topic describes how you can add, delete, and modify multiple data centers in the IaaS config pane of the BOSH Director tile. This allows you to spread instances across regions without having to deploy and manage multiple PCF foundations.

Note: You can only have multiple data centers with vSphere and OpenStack.

Add a New IaaS Config

When you have only one IaaS config, you do not see a list of IaaS configs when you select the IaaS configs pane. Instead, you see the form to the one config and an option to add more.

To add a new IaaS config, do the following:

  1. Click Add vCenter Config or Add OpenStack Config. The 'Add vCenter Config' button is located to the right of the 'vCenter Config' header. The first field below is titled 'Name', indicated required with an asterisk. In the field, there is a unique name entered, 'first-vcenter'.

  2. Enter a unique Name for your config.

  3. Complete the rest of the form.

  4. Click Save.

  5. Go to the Create Availability Zones pane.

  6. Create one or more AZs and associate them to your IaaS config with the IaaS Configuration field.

  7. Click Save.

Modify an IaaS Config

To modify one of multiple IaaS configs, do the following:

  1. Go to the list of configs by selecting the IaaS config pane. The 'vCenter Config' pane a header called 'List of vCenter Configs' followed by the names of each vCenter next to a pencil icon. To the right of the main header is an 'Add vCenter Config' button.

  2. Click the pencil icon.

  3. Edit the fields you want to change.

  4. Click Save.

Delete an IaaS Config

To delete your IaaS config, do the following:

  1. From the BOSH Director tile, go to the Create Availability Zones pane.

  2. Click the trashcan icon to disassociate each AZ with your IaaS config. To know which AZs are associated, expand each AZ and see IaaS Configuration.

    Note: Ops Manager does not allow you to delete your first AZ or your first IaaS config. Your first AZ is always associated with your first IaaS config.

  3. Click Save

  4. Go to the IaaS config pane.

  5. Click the trashcan icon to delete your IaaS config.

  6. Click Save.